Reno Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer
Were you involved in a hit-and-run auto accident?
It is illegal in the state of Nevada to fail to stop after being involved in a car accident (NRS § 484E.010-030). This goes for accidents involving bodily injury and accidents involving property damage alone. A Reno personal injury lawyer from Shook & Stone can assist if a hit-and-run driver caused your car accident. We can analyze your case to determine the best legal recourse.
According to NRS 484E.010 and 484E.020,
1. The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident on a highway or on premises to which the public has access resulting in bodily injury to or the death of a person shall immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible, and shall remain at the scene of the accident. 3. A person failing to comply with the provisions of subsection 1 is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 15 years and by a fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $5,000.
The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall: 1. Immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident.
There are two main reasons why a driver is required by law to stop after being involved in an accident. For one, the driver must render aid as much as reasonably possible until emergency medical services arrives at the scene. The second reason stopping after an accident is required is because of the duty to give information. This information is exchanged for insurance and liability purposes. If a driver fails to stop after an accident, the victim will not be able to file a claim to receive compensation from the at-fault driver's insurance.
The Role of UM Insurance in Hit-and-Run Accidents
In the event of a hit-and-run accident, the victim will be unable to obtain information from the at-fault driver. Without this information, they cannot recover compensation from the other driver's insurance (if they even had it). If you are a victim of this type of accident, you may be able to recover compensation by way of your uninsured motorist insurance (UM insurance). UM insurance typically covers drivers who are hit by drivers who do not have insurance, but it can also cover hit-and-run victims. Even though it is illegal not to have auto insurance as a Nevada driver, many fall under this category.
Nevada, like all other states, has minimum required auto insurance coverage. The Nevada minimum requirements are 15/30/10. This means that every driver must carry at least $15,000 bodily injury per person, $30,000 bodily injury per accident and $10,000 property damage per accident. These are each person's liability insurance requirements, which means this covers damage caused by an accident you were at-fault for. In Nevada, you can also purchase UM insurance or underinsured motorist (UIM) insurance. UM insurance could provide compensation to you in the event of a hit-and-run accident. However, UM insurance only covers bodily injury.
Contacting a Reno Car Accident Attorney
Call Shook & Stone if you were involved in a hit-and-run accident. Our Reno car accident lawyers may be able to assist in your case even if the at-fault driver was never tracked down. Unfortunately, many Reno drivers do not have insurance or adequate insurance. It is our job as attorneys to fight to see that you don't have to suffer for their negligence. To learn more or for a free case evaluation, call our firm.